LOCAL NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE FOR TEACHERS

At The Annual General Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held in 'The Bridge' Meeting Room, 16 Church Street, Dumbarton on Tuesday, 17 September 2019 at 2.00 p.m.

- **Present:** Councillors Karen Conaghan, Ian Dickson and John Mooney; Laura Mason, Chief Education Officer; Andrew Brown, Senior Education Officer; Lindsay Thomas*, Head Teacher, Linnvale Primary School and ELCC; Gavin Corrigan, Michael Dolan, James Halfpenny, Caroline Yates, Campbell Lloyd, Julia Strang and Dawn Wilson (EIS); and Claire Mackenzie (SSTA).
 - * Arrived later in the meeting
- Attending: Linda McAlister, Education Support Officer; and Gabriella Gonda and Scott Kelly, Committee Officers.
- Apologies: Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Murray Hanvey, Acting Head Teacher, Dumbarton Academy; Stephen McCrossan, Area Officer, EIS; and Geraldine Lyden, HR Business Partner, Educational Services.

Mr Gavin Corrigan in the Chair

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

It was noted that there were no declarations of interest in the item of business on the agenda.

MEMBERSHIP

In accordance with Paragraph 6 of the Local Recognition and Procedure Agreement, the Committee noted that the membership of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers (LNCT) for 2019/2020 would be as follows:-

Management Side

Members: Councillors Karen Conaghan, Ian Dickson and John Mooney; Laura Mason, Chief Education Officer; Andrew Brown, Senior Education Officer; Murray Hanvey, Acting Head Teacher, Dumbarton Academy; and Lindsay Thomas, Head Teacher, Linnvale Primary and ELCC.

Substitutes for any member of the Management Side: Geraldine Lyden, HR Business Partner (until December 2019); Louise Hastings, HR Business Partner (from December 2019); and Linda McAlister, Education Support Officer.

Teachers' Side

Members: Gavin Corrigan, Michael Dolan, James Halfpenny, Campbell Lloyd, Julia Strang, Dawn Wilson and Caroline Yates (all EIS); and Claire Mackenzie (SSTA).

Substitute for any member of the Teachers' Side: Karen Jakeman (EIS).

Advisers: Stephen McCrossan, Area Officer (EIS); and Euan Duncan, Professional Officer (SSTA).

Ms Thomas entered the meeting at this point.

CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

In accordance with Paragraph 9 of the Local Recognition and Procedure Agreement, the Committee noted that in this, the seventeenth year of the LNCT, Councillor Karen Conaghan would assume the position of Chair for the Management Side and Gavin Corrigan would assume the position of Vice Chair for the Teachers' Side.

Councillor Karen Conaghan in the Chair

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Minutes of Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on 18 June 2019 were submitted and approved as a correct record, subject to the name 'Christopher Lloyd' in the sederunt being amended to 'Campbell Lloyd'.

SCHOOL TERM DATES/ACADEMIC CALENDAR 2020/2021

A report was submitted by the Joint Secretaries seeking agreement for setting the academic calendar for Teachers and Associated Professionals for the session 2020/2021. It was noted that an Erratum Notice containing revised versions of the appendices to the report had been issued in advance of the meeting.

Following discussion and having heard both Sides, the Committee agreed:-

- to note that a consultation process was underway to seek views from educational establishments on the preferred option for the school term dates for 2020/2021 (as detailed in the Appendices to the report);
- (2) that following the consultation process with educational establishments, representatives from the Management Side would meet with the TU

Convenors to agree the school term dates and set the academic calendar for 2020/21; and

(3) that Management Side in agreement with the TU Convenors would start the consultation process to establish the preferred school term dates and set the academic calendars for 2021/2022 and 2022/2023.

PROGRAMME OF FUTURE MEETINGS

The LNCT noted that the meetings were normally held during the months of December, March, June and September (Annual General Meeting).

Accordingly, the Committee agreed the following future meeting dates:-

- Tuesday, 10 December 2019 at 2.00 p.m. in 'The Brock' Meeting Room, Council Offices, 16 Church Street, Dumbarton.
- Tuesday, 17 March 2020 at 2.00 p.m. in 'The Bridge' Meeting Room, Council Offices, 16 Church Street, Dumbarton.
- Tuesday, 16 June 2020 at 2.00 p.m. in 'The Bridge' Meeting Room, Council Offices, 16 Church Street, Dumbarton.
- Tuesday, 22 September 2020 at 2.00 p.m. in 'The Bridge' Meeting Room, Council Offices, 16 Church Street, Dumbarton.

The meeting closed at 2.12 p.m.