WEST DUNBARTONSHIRE COUNCIL

Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton G82 3PU

16 September 2008

MEETING: LOCAL NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE

FOR TEACHERS (AGM)

TUESDAY 23 SEPTEMBER 2008

MEETING ROOM 2 FIRST FLOOR COUNCIL OFFICES GARSHAKE ROAD DUMBARTON

Dear Member

Please attend the Annual General Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers to be held in Meeting Room 2, First Floor, Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton on Tuesday 23 September 2008 at 10.00 a.m.

The business is shown on the enclosed Agenda.

Yours faithfully

BILL CLARK

Acting Chief Executive

Distribution List:

Councillor M. Smillie (Chair)

Councillor J. McColl

Councillor P. McGlinchey

Councillor G. Black

Terry Lanagan, Executive Director of Educational Services

Dave Clarke, head of Service (Resources)

Tricia O'Neill, Head of Human Resources and Organisational Development

Rae Strang, Head Teacher, Bonhill Primary School

Stewart Paterson, Teachers' Convener, E.I.S.

Josephine McDaid, E.I.S.

Kathleen Burns, E.I.S.

Janice Wardrop, E.I.S.

Olean Allison, E.I.S.

Charles Docherty, E.I.S.

Colin Galletly, E.I.S.

Alex McEwan, S.S.T.A.

Substitutes: -

James Moore E.I.S.

Michael Dolan, E.I.S.

Brian Clark, S.S.T.A.

Lesley Robertson, Head Teacher, Aitkenbar Primary School

Margaret Mackay, Quality Improvement Officer, Personnel, Education and Cultural Services

Geraldine Lyden, Personnel Adviser, Educational Services

Adviser: -

LACHLAN Bradley, E.I.S. Area Officer

For information: -

All other Councillors
Chief Executive

All Directors

Head of Legal, Administrative and Regulatory Services

LOCAL NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE FOR TEACHERS (AGM)

TUESDAY 23 SEPTEMBER 2008

AGENDA

1. APOLOGIES

2. MEMBERSHIP

In accordance with Paragraph 6 of the Local Recognition and Procedure Agreement, the Committee is asked to note that the membership of the LNCT for 2008/2009 will be as follows:-

Teachers' Side

Members:-

Stewart Paterson, Teachers' Convener, E.I.S; Josephine McDaid, E.I.S.; Kathleen Burns, E.I.S.; Janice Wardrop, E.I.S.; Olean Allison, E.I.S.; Charles Docherty, E.I.S., Colin Galletly, E.I.S. and Alex McEwan, S.S.T.A.

Substitutes for any member of the Teachers' Side:-James Moore, E.I.S., Michael Dolan, E.I.S. and Brian Clark, S.S.T.A.

Adviser: Lachlan Bradley, E.I.S. Area Officer

Management Side

Members: Councillor May Smillie (Chair); Councillor Jonathan McColl; Councillor Patrick McGlinchey; Councillor George Black; Terry Lanagan, Executive Director of Educational Services; Dave Clarke, Head of Service (Resources), Educational Services; Tricia O'Neill, Head Of Human Resources and Organisational Development and Rae Strang, Head Teacher, Bonhill Primary School.

Substitutes: Lesley Robertson, Head Teacher, Aitkenbar Primary School; Margaret Mackay, Quality Improvement Officer, Personnel, Educational Services and Geraldine Lyden, Personnel Adviser, Educational Services.

3. CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

In accordance with Paragraph 9 of the Local Recognition and Procedure Agreement, the Committee is asked to note that in this, the sixth year of the LNCT, Josephine McDaid, E.I.S. will assume the Chair for the Teachers' Side and Councillor May Smillie will assume the position of Vice-Chair for the Management Side.

4. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

(pages 1 - 27)

Submit for approval as a correct record, the Minutes of the Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on 13 May 2008.

5. LEARNING REPRESENTATIVES' AGREEMENT (pages 29 - 37)

Submit a report by Mr Paterson, Joint Secretary, LNCT providing information on the role of Learning Representatives within the Education Department and seeking agreement on adopting the 'Learning Representatives' Agreement'.

6. PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS

The LNCT is requested to consider setting dates for future meetings. Members are asked to note that the LNCT normally meets during the following months:-December, March, May/June and September (AGM).

For information on the above agenda please contact Lorraine Beveridge, Committee Officer, Legal, Administrative and Regulatory Services, Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton. G82 3PU Tel: (01389) 737220 Email: lorraine.beveridge@west-dunbarton.gov.uk