## RECRUITMENT COMMITTEE

At a Meeting of the Recruitment Committee held on Tuesday 10 August 2004 in the Anteroom, Municipal Buildings, Dumbarton Road, Clydebank at 9.10 a.m.

**Present:** Councillors Margaret Bootland, Tony Devine, James Flynn and Andy

White.

**Attending:** Tim Huntingford, Chief Executive and Gerry McInerney, Head of

Personnel Services.

## Councillor Andy White in the Chair

### MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Minutes of Meeting of the Committee held on 23 July 2004 were submitted and approved as a correct record.

#### **EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC**

- The Committee approved the following resolution:-
- "That under Section 50A (4) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973 the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following items of business on the grounds that they may involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 7A of the Act."

#### TIMETABLE FOR INTERVIEWS

There was circulated and noted a timetable for interviews for the post of Head of Personnel Services.

# INTERVIEWS FOR HEAD OF PERSONNEL SERVICES

- Each candidate was asked to undertake a 10-minute presentation on a predetermined topic and to respond to 5 set questions which were given 15 minutes prior to the interview.
- The Committee proceeded to hear presentations and interviewed the undernoted candidates for the post of Head of Personnel Services:-

- J. Bethune
- D. Mackie
- A. Moore
- P. O'Neill
- 3312 It was noted that shortleeted candidate J. McCartney no longer wished to be considered for the post.
- Thereafter, interview assessment sheets were completed by Members scoring their overall assessment of each candidate.
- Following discussion, the Committee identified Ms. Patricia O'Neill as the successful candidate for the post.
- The Committee also noted that the Chief Executive would arrange, on behalf of the Committee, subject to the receipt of satisfactory references, to offer the post to Ms. O'Neill and inform the unsuccessful candidates of the Committee's decision.

The meeting closed at 12.55 p.m.