## WEST DUNBARTONSHIRE COUNCIL

At the Special Meeting of West Dunbartonshire Council held in the Council Chambers, Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton, on Wednesday, 24 March 2010 at 5.30 p.m.

- **Present:** Provost Denis Agnew and Councillors George Black, Jim Bollan, Jim Brown, Geoff Calvert, Gail Casey, Jim McElhill, Jim Finn, William Hendrie, Douglas McAllister, David McBride, Jonathan McColl, Ronnie McColl, Craig McLaughlin, Marie McNair, John Millar, Iain Robertson, Martin Rooney and May Smillie.
- Attending: David McMillan, Chief Executive; Joyce White, Executive Director of Corporate Services; Elaine Melrose, Executive Director of Housing, Environmental and Economic Development; David Connell, Head of Finance and ICT; Andrew Fraser, Head of Legal, Administrative and Regulatory Services; Anne Laird, Manager of Administrative Services; and George Hawthorn, Senior Administrative Officer.
- **Apologies:** Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Councillors Margaret Bootland, Patrick McGlinchey and Willie McLaughlin.

### **Provost Denis Agnew in the Chair**

### **PROVOST'S REMARKS**

After hearing Provost Agnew and the Head of Legal, Administrative and Regulatory Services, the Council noted that in accordance with the relevant legislation, any changes to the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils would require the support of two thirds of those Members present and voting.

# **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

It was noted that there were no declarations of interest.

# **REVIEW OF SCHEME FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMUNITY COUNCILS**

With reference to the Minutes of Meeting of West Dunbartonshire Council held on 24 February 2010 (Page XXX refers), a report was submitted by the Executive Director of Corporate Services asking the Council to adopt, in principle, the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils subject to the statutory consultation arrangements.

The Council agreed unanimously to adopt the model scheme in principle, together with the Code of Conduct for Community Councillors, subject to the statutory consultation arrangements and noted that the outcome of the consultation would be submitted to a future meeting for further review.

The meeting closed at 5.35 p.m.