WEST DUNBARTONSHIRE COUNCIL

At the Special Meeting of West Dunbartonshire Council held in the Council Chambers, Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton, on Wednesday, 30 March 2011 at 5.30 p.m.

Present: Provost Denis Agnew and Councillors Jim Bollan, Jim Brown, Geoff

Calvert, Gail Casey, Jim McElhill, Jim Finn, William Hendrie, David McBride, Ronnie McColl, Willie McLaughlin, Marie McNair, John Millar,

Iain Robertson, Martin Rooney and May Smillie.

Attending: David McMillan, Chief Executive; Joyce White, Executive Director of

Corporate Services; Terry Lanagan, Executive Director of Educational

Services; Elaine Melrose, Executive Director of Housing,

Environmental and Economic Development; Andrew Fraser, Head of Legal, Administrative and Regulatory Services; and George Hawthorn,

Senior Administrative Officer.

Apologies: Apologies for absence were intimated on behalf of Councillors Douglas

McAllister, Craig McLaughlin, Jonathan McColl and Patrick

McGlinchey.

Provost Denis Agnew in the Chair

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

It was noted that there were no declarations of interest.

REVIEW OF SCHEME FOR THE ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMUNITY COUNCILS

With reference to the Minutes of the Special Meeting of West Dunbartonshire Council held on 26 January 2011 (Pages 3401/03 refer), a report was submitted by the Executive Director of Corporate Services informing the Council of the response to the third consultation on the Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils and making recommendations thereon.

The Council agreed:-

(1) to approve the Revised Scheme for the Establishment of Community Councils, as detailed in Appendix I to these minutes, subject to the undernoted amendments:-

With respect to the written description of the boundary for Balloch and Haldane Community Council, replace the words "along the A811 to Ballochmyle" with "along the A811 to Ballagan";

- (2) to approve the extended timetable for community council nominations and elections as shown on the attached timetable (shown as Appendix II to these minutes);
- (3) to agree that, in the interim, existing Community Councils should continue to operate as normal up until the close of nominations; and
- (4) to agree that if any Requisitions to form a new Community Council are received prior to timescales shown within the above timetable then the Requisition should be processed without delay and the nomination process undertaken under the statutory timescales. If sufficient numbers of nominations are received to form a community council but not enough to prompt an election, then the new community council would be constituted under the Revised Scheme. However, if an election is required then the election should be held at the same time as others, as detailed on the attached timetable.

The meeting closed at 5.31 p.m.