LOCAL NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE FOR TEACHERS

At a Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on Tuesday, 14 March 2006 in Meeting Room 2, Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton at 2.00 p.m.

Present: Bob Cook, Director of Education and Cultural Services; Terry

Lanagan, Head of Service, Estates; Rae Strang, Head Teacher, Bonhill Primary School; Angela Finn, Head Teacher, Dumbarton Academy; Stewart Paterson, Teachers' Convener, E.I.S.; Jan Cleife, E.I.S.; Janice Wardrop. E.I.S.; Olean Allison, E.I.S.; Charles Docherty, E.I.S.; Stephen McInally, E.I.S. (substitute for Kathleen Burns) and

Alexander McEwan, S.S.T.A.

Attending: Norman Bissell, E.I.S., Adviser; Margaret Mackay, Head Teacher,

Personnel/McCrone; Paul McGowan, Personnel Adviser, Education

and Cultural Services and Lorraine Beveridge, Administrative

Assistant, Legal and Administrative Services.

Apologies: Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Margaret

Bootland, Margaret McGregor and James McCallum and Josephine

McDaid, E.I.S. and Kathleen Burns, E.I.S.

ELECTION OF CHAIRPERSON

Before commencing with the business of the Meeting the Committee agreed that in the absence of Councillor McCallum, Chair, the meeting would be chaired by Ms Jan Cleife, Vice Chair.

Thereafter, Ms Cleife assumed the Chair.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Minutes of Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on 16 February 2006 were submitted and approved as a correct record.

Following discussion and after hearing Mr McGowan it was agreed that paragraphs (1) to (3) under the heading 'Grievance Procedures for Teachers' be amended to read as follows:-

"(1) to adopt SNCT/23 - Grievance Framework for Scottish Teachers, as detailed in Appendix 1 to the report, for use within West Dunbartonshire Council:

- (2) to adopt SNCT/40 Appeals Procedure, as detailed in Appendix 2 to the report, as West Dunbartonshire Council's Policy; and
- (3) to agree the Grievance Procedures Teaching staff, as detailed in Appendix 3 to the report, as West Dunbartonshire Council's Policy..."

With reference to the item under the heading '35 Hour Working Week Agreement for 2006-2007, after hearing Mr Paterson, the Committee noted that the Teachers' Side had consulted with its members.

35 HOUR WORKING WEEK AGREEMENT FOR 2006-2007

With reference to the Minutes of Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on 16 February 2006, there was submitted:-

- (a) a report by the Director of Education and Cultural Services on proposals for Teachers' 35 Hour Working Week Agreement for 2006-2007; and
- (b) proposals from the Teachers' Side for Teachers' 35 Hour Working Week for the Session 2006-2007.

After discussion, the Committee agreed that the meeting be adjourned for a short time to allow both Sides to consider the recommendations within the aforementioned report.

Thereafter, the Committee reconvened with all those on the sederunt present.

After discussion and having heard both Sides, the Committee agreed:-

- (1) that two sub-groups of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers be formed to discuss the 35 Hour Working Week Agreement for 2006-2007, one for Primary Schools and one for Secondary Schools;
- (2) that the Primary School Sub-Group would consist of Olean Allison, Rae Strang and Margaret Mackay;
- (3) that the Secondary School Sub-Group would consist of Angela Finn, Stewart Paterson, Jan Cleife and Terry Lanagan;
- (4) that following the Sub-Groups' discussions a report would be submitted to the next meeting of the LNCT; and
- (5) that the Clerk to the Committee would make the necessary arrangements for a meeting to be held either on Monday, 24 or Tuesday, 25 April 2006 at 2.00 p.m.

The meeting closed at 2.35 p.m.