WEST DUNBARTONSHIRE COUNCIL

At a Special Meeting of West Dunbartonshire Council held by video conference on Thursday, 26 August 2021 at 1.00 p.m.

Present: Provost William Hendrie, Bailie Denis Agnew and Councillors Jim Bollan, Jim Brown*, Gail Casey*, Karen Conaghan, Ian Dickson, Diane Docherty, Jim Finn, Daniel Lennie, Caroline McAllister, David McBride, Jonathan McColl, Iain McLaren, Marie McNair, John Millar, John Mooney*, Lawrence O'Neill, Sally Page, Martin Rooney and Brian Walker.

* Arrived later in the meeting

Attending: Joyce White, Chief Executive; Peter Hessett, Chief Officer – Regulatory and Regeneration (Legal Officer); Stephen West, Chief Officer – Resources and Section 95 Officer; Peter Barry, Chief Officer – Housing & Employability; George Hawthorn, Manager – Democratic & Registration Services; Elaine Troup, Communities Manager and Christine McCaffary, Senior Democratic Services Officer.

STATEMENT BY CHAIR

The Provost advised that the meeting was being audio streamed and broadcast live to the internet and would be available for playback.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

It was noted that there were not declarations of interest in the item of business on this agenda.

RECORDING OF VOTES

The Council agreed that all votes taken during the meeting would be done by roll call vote to ensure an accurate record.

REVIEW OF THE SCHEME OF ESTABLISHMENT OF COMMUNITY COUNCILS

A report was submitted by the Chief Officer – Housing & Employability providing an update on the first phase of consultation on the Scheme of Establishment.

After discussion and having heard officers and in answer to Members' questions, the Council agreed:-

- to consult further for a period of 16 weeks based on the findings and proposed boundary changes detailed in the Review of Scheme for Establishment for Community Councils: Stage 1 Consultation report;
- (2) to Community Council elections being delayed until after the 2022 local elections at a date to be set by the Returning Officer; and
- (3) to note the requirement to further amend the timetable for the remainder of the review process.

<u>Note</u>:- Councillors Brown, Casey and Mooney joined during discussion of the above item.

The meeting closed at 1.49 p.m.