#### RECRUITMENT COMMITTEE

At a Meeting of the Recruitment Committee held in the Anteroom, Clydebank Town Hall, Dumbarton Road, Clydebank on Thursday, 8 June 2006 at 9.15 a.m.

**Present:** Councillors Denis Agnew, James Flynn, Connie O'Sullivan and Andy

White.

Attending: Tim Huntingford, Chief Executive and Tricia O'Neill, Head of Personnel

Services.

## **Councillor Andy White in the Chair**

### MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Minutes of the Recruitment Committee held on 19 May 2006 were submitted and approved as a correct record.

#### **EXCLUSION OF PRESS AND PUBLIC**

9224 The Committee approved the following resolution:-

"That under Section 50A (4) of the Local Government (Scotland) Act, 1973 the press and public be excluded from the meeting for the following item of business on the grounds that it may involve the likely disclosure of exempt information as defined in Paragraph 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 7A of the Act."

# POST OF DIRECTOR OF EDUCATION AND CULTURAL SERVICES – INTERVIEW OF CANDIDATES

The Committee proceeded to interview the undernoted candidates for the post of Director of Education and Cultural Services:-

G Crosbie L Townsend T Lanagan

- Thereafter, interview assessment sheets were completed by Members scoring their overall assessment of each candidate.
- Following discussion, the Committee was unable to identify a suitable candidate for the post of Director of Education and Cultural Services.

- The Committee noted that the Chief Executive would arrange for the candidates to be informed of the Committee's decision.
- Following further discussion the Committee delegated authority to the Chief Executive to pursue two options in relation to appointment to the post:-
  - 1. To explore the possibility of inviting alternative candidates to apply for the post.
  - 2. In the event of this approach not being effective to pursue arrangements to put in place an interim appointment.
- The Chief Executive was requested to liaise with the Leader of the Council in pursuing the two options and to inform Councillors of the outcome.

The meeting closed at approximately 1.15 p.m.