WEST DUNBARTONSHIRE COUNCIL

Report by the Returning Officer

West Dunbartonshire Council: 16 May 2007

Subject: Local Government Elections – 3 May 2007

1. Purpose

1.1 This report provides the Council with information on the results of the Local Government Elections held in West Dunbartonshire on 3 May 2007.

2. Background

2.1 Elections were held on 3 May 2007 to elect 22 Councillors to serve in the undernoted multi-member wards within the West Dunbartonshire Council area:-

Lomond	3 Members
Leven	4 Members
Dumbarton	4 Members
Kilpatrick	3 Members
Clydebank Central	4 Members
Clydebank Waterfront	4 members

3. Main Issues

3.1 The method used to elect local Councillors was the Single Transferable Vote (Weighted Inclusive Gregory model) which required the electorate to vote by order of preference. The results of the local elections are detailed in the Appendix to this report.

4. Personnel Issues

4.1 There are no personnel issues.

5. Financial Implications

5.1 There are no financial implications.

6. Risk Analysis

6.1 As the elections have been completed, there is no requirement for a risk analysis.

7. Recommendations

7.1 The Council is asked to note the results of the West Dunbartonshire Council elections held in May 2007.

 David McMillan

 Returning Officer

 Date: 10 May 2007

 Person to Contact:
 George Hawthorn, Senior Administrative Officer, Chief

 Executive's Department, Legal and Administrative

 Services, Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton.

 Telephone No. 01389-737204 or e-mail:

 george.hawthorn@west-dunbarton.gov.uk

 Appendices:
 West Dunbartonshire Council Elections – 3 May 2007 –

 Results.

 Wards Affected:
 All Wards.