APPENDIX



ARRANGEMENTS FOR ELECTIONS TO COMMUNITY COUNCILS

12 OCTOBER 2006

- **1.** The existing community councils and community councillors will remain in place until midnight on **11th October 2006**.
- A Notice inviting requisitions for the formation of Community Councils in areas where none currently operate will appear in the local press by 1st June 2006. The Notice will be published throughout the Council area.

The requisition must be signed by twenty electors listed on the current Register of Electors for that community council area. Copies of the electoral register will be available for consultation at the Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton and at the Council's 3 Registration Offices at the Municipal Buildings, Dumbarton; 77 Bank Street, Alexandria and Rosebery Place, Clydebank.

The deadline for requisitions will be **4.00 p.m. on 30th June 2006**. All requisitions are to be returned to the Chief Executive, West Dunbartonshire Council, Garshake Road, Dumbarton.

- **3.** Where the required number of electors sign the requisition, a Notice of Election will be publicised throughout the Community Council area and in the local press by **Thursday 17 August 2006**.
- **4.** Nomination papers will be issued to each serving Community Councillor and will be available from the Council Offices at Garshake Road, Dumbarton and from the Registration Offices at the above addresses.
- 5. Nominations must be returned to the appropriate Registration Office by the closing date and time 4.00 p.m on Thursday 7th September 2006. Community Councils have been allocated to the nearest Registration Office as follows:-

Group 1 Alexandria Registration Office, 77 Bank Street, Alexandria

Kilmaronock Balloch and Haldane Alexandria Renton Bonhill and Dalmonach

Group 2 Dumbarton Registration Office, Municipal Buildings, Dumbarton

Dumbarton North Dumbarton West Silverton and Overtoun Dumbarton East and Central Bowling and Milton

Group 3 Clydebank Registration Office Council Offices, Rosebery Place, Clydebank

Old Kilpatrick Dalmuir and Mountblow Parkhall and North Kilbowie Duntocher and Hardgate Faifley Linnvale and Drumry Clydebank East

Nominations **MUST** be received at the appropriate Registration Office by **4.00 p.m. on Thursday 7th September.** Late nominations cannot be accepted. Nominations once submitted can be withdrawn up until **12.00 noon on Monday 11th September.**

Candidates should submit a brief statement in support of their nomination (in no more than 100 words). These statements will be collated and issued to all electors with the ballot papers to help them to make their choice. The statements must be lodged with the Returning Officer by **Thursday 7**th **September.** Candidates are not obliged to submit such a statement. The Returning Officer's staff will not edit any statements. Statements exceeding 100 words will not be reproduced.

6. If the number of valid nominations does not exceed the number of seats on the Community Council, then all nominees will be elected unopposed. A Notice to this effect will be published as soon as possible after the closing date for withdrawals. If nominations are received for less than half the seats on the Community Council, then the Council will not be formed at this time.

- If the number of valid nominations exceeds the number of seats, a Notice of Poll will be published by Thursday 14th September 2006 for those Community Council areas to be contested.
- 8. Voting will be by post and votes will be sent to all registered electors within the Community Council area, together with clear instructions, the candidates' statements and a return post-paid envelope.
- **9.** The close of poll will be at **4.00 p.m. on Thursday 12th October.** Counts will be arranged at convenient locations on the evening of 12 October or on the following day.
- **10.** Notices of the results will be published throughout the area as soon as possible thereafter.

Returning Officer: April 2006