LOCAL NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE FOR TEACHERS

At the Annual General Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held in Meeting Room 2, Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton on Tuesday, 26 September 2006 at 2.00 p.m.

- **Present:** Councillor Denis Agnew; Terry Lanagan, Head of Service (Schools Estate); Rae Strang, Head Teacher, Bonhill Primary School; Stewart Paterson, Teachers' Convener, E.I.S.; Jan Cleife, E.I.S.; Josephine McDaid, E.I.S.; Janice Wardrop. E.I.S.; Olean Allison, E.I.S.; Charles Docherty, E.I.S; Stephen McInally, E.I.S. and Alexander McEwan, S.S.T.A..
- Attending: Paul McGowan, Personnel Adviser, Education and Cultural Services; Margaret Mackay, Quality Improvement Officer, Personnel, Education and Cultural Services and Fiona Anderson, Administrative Assistant, Legal and Administrative Services.
- Apologies: Apologies for absence were received from Councillor Margaret McGregor; Liz McGinlay, Director of Education and Cultural Services; Tricia O'Neill, Head of Personnel; Angela Finn, Head Teacher, Dumbarton Academy; Kathleen Burns, E.I.S. and Norman Bissell, E.I.S. Area Officer.

Councillor Denis Agnew in the Chair

MEMBERSHIP

Having heard Councillor Agnew, the Committee agreed to note that the membership of the Committee for the forthcoming year would be as follows:-

Teachers' Side

Members:	Stewart Paterson, Teachers' Convener (E.I.S.); Jan Cleife (E.I.S.); Josephine McDaid (E.I.S.); Kathleen Burns (E.I.S.); Janice Wardrop, (E.I.S.); Olean Allison (E.I.S.); Charles Docherty, (E.I.S.) and Alex McEwan (S.S.T.A.).
EIS Substitute:	Stephen McInally, E.I.S.
S.S.T.A. Substitute:	Brian Clark, S.S.T.A.

Adviser: Norman Bissell, E.I.S., Area Officer.

Management Side

- Members: Councillor Denis Agnew; Councillor Margaret Bootland; Councillor Margaret McGregor; Liz McGinlay, Director of Education and Cultural Services; Terry Lanagan, Head of Service (Schools' Estate); Tricia O'Neill, Head of Personnel; Angela Finn, Head Teacher, Dumbarton Academy and Rae Strang, Head Teacher, Bonhill Primary School.
- Substitutes: Lesley Robertson, Head Teacher, Aitkenbar Primary School (for Rae Strang, Head Teacher, Bonhill Primary School) Paul McGowan, Section Head, Personnel, Education and Cultural Services (for Tricia O'Neill, Head of Personnel) Margaret Mackay, Quality Improvement Officer, Personnel, Education and Cultural Services.

CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

In accordance with Paragraph 9 of the Local Recognition and Procedure Agreement, the Committee noted that Jan Cleife would assume the position of Chair for the Teachers' Side and Councillor Denis Agnew would assume the position of Vice-Chair for the Management Side.

Jan Cleife in the Chair

Before commencing with the business of the meeting, Jan Cleife, on behalf of the Committee, praised Mr Cook for all his hard work during his time as Director of Education and Cultural Services in relation to the implementation of the McCrone Agreement and welcomed Liz McGinlay as Director of Education and Cultural Services.

Ms Cleife informed the Committee that as Ms Angela Finn intended to retire as Head Teacher of Dumbarton Academy in October 2006, this would be her last meeting as a member of the LNCT. Ms Cleife, on behalf of the Committee, thanked Ms Finn for her services to the Committee.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

There were submitted and approved the Minutes of Meetings of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on 24 April 2006.

PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS

The Committee noted that meetings were normally held during the months of December, March, May/June and September (AGM).

After discussion and having heard Ms Cleife, it was agreed that the Committee would meet on the following dates at 9.30 a.m.:-

Tuesday, 12 December 2006 Tuesday, 13 March 2007 Tuesday, 8 May 2007

Thereafter, the Teachers' Side circulated a list detailing agenda items for consideration at future meetings of the Committee.

After discussion and having heard both Sides, the Committee agreed:-

- (1) to note that prior to the next meeting of the SNCT Working Party, to be held in November 2006, the Collegiality Sub-Group would convene and thereafter submit a report to the SNCT Working Party on the LNCT;
- (2) that, at the next meeting of the Committee, to be held on 12 December 2006, the following items would be placed on the agenda:-
 - Management Time Subgroup (Secondary);
 - Grievance and Discipline Monitoring Forms;
 - Collegiality; and
 - Management Structures Faculties;
- (2) that, at a meeting of the Committee to be held on 13 March 2007, the following item would be placed on the agenda:-
 - Support Staff (Learning Assistants) remits and responsibilities awaiting outcome of Equal Opportunities Commission review;
- (3) that, at a meeting of the Committee to be held on 8 May 2007, the following items would be placed on the agenda:-
 - Continuing Professional Development; and
 - Probationers.

The meeting closed at 2.45 p.m.