#### WEST DUNBARTONSHIRE COUNCIL

# Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton, G82 3PU

9 September 2010

MEETING: LOCAL NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE

FOR TEACHERS

**TUESDAY 21 SEPTEMBER 2010** 

MEETING ROOM 2 FIRST FLOOR COUNCIL OFFICES GARSHAKE ROAD DUMBARTON

Dear Member

Please attend the Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers to be held in Meeting Room 2, First Floor, Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton on Tuesday, 21 September 2010 at 10.00 a.m.

The business is shown on the enclosed Agenda.

Yours faithfully

**DAVID McMILLAN** 

Chief Executive

# **Distribution List:**

Councillor J. McColl (Chair)

Councillor M. Smillie

Councillor P. McGlinchey

Councillor G. Black

Terry Lanagan, Executive Director of Educational Services

Dave Clarke, Head of Service (Resources)

Graham Hutton, Head Teacher, Dumbarton Academy

Julie McGroggan, Head Teacher, St Michael's Primary School

Josephine McDaid, E.I.S. (Vice-Chair)

Stewart Paterson, Teachers' Convener, E.I.S.

Janice Wardrop, E.I.S.

Olean Allison, E.I.S.

Michael Dolan, E.I.S.

Gavin Corrigan, E.I.S.

Karen Jakeman, E.I.S.

Alex McEwan, S.S.T.A.

# For information: -

All other Councillors
Chief Executive

## Adviser: -

Lachlan Bradley, E.I.S.

#### Substitutes: -

James Halfpenny, E.I.S

Alistair Kennedy, S.S.T.A.

Margaret Mackay, Quality Improvement Officer, Personnel, Education and Cultural Services

Geraldine Lyden, Personnel Adviser, Educational Services

# LOCAL NEGOTIATING COMMITTEE FOR TEACHERS

## **TUESDAY, 21 SEPTEMBER 2010**

### **AGENDA**

## 1. APOLOGIES

## 2. MEMBERSHIP

In accordance with Paragraph 6 of the Local Recognition and Procedure Agreement, the Committee is asked to note that the membership of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers (LNCT) for 2010/2011 will be as follows:-

# **Teachers' Side**

**Members:-** Stewart Paterson, Teachers' Convener, E.I.S; Josephine McDaid, E.I.S. (Vice-Chair); Janice Wardrop, E.I.S.; Olean Allison, E.I.S.; Michael Dolan, E.I.S.; Gavin Corrigan, E.I.S.; Karen Jakeman, E.I.S.; and Alex McEwan, S.S.T.A.

Substitutes for any member of the Teachers' Side:-James Halfpenny, E.I.S. and Alistair Kennedy, S.S.T.A.

**Adviser:** Lachlan Bradley, E.I.S. Area Officer.

## **Management Side**

**Members:-** Councillor Jonathan McColl (Chair); Councillor May Smillie; Councillor Patrick McGlinchey; Councillor George Black; Terry Lanagan, Executive Director of Educational Services; Dave Clarke, Head of Service (Resources), Educational Services; Graham Hutton, Head Teacher, Dumbarton Academy and Julie McGrogan, Head Teacher, St Michael's Primary School.

**Substitutes:** Geraldine Lyden, Section Head, Human Resources, Educational Services and Margaret Mackay, Quality Improvement Officer, Personnel, Educational Services.

#### 3. CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR

In accordance with Paragraph 9 of the Local Recognition and Procedure Agreement, the Committee is asked to note that in this, the eighth year of the LNCT, Josephine McDaid, E.I.S. will assume the Chair for the Teachers' Side and Councillor Jonathan McColl will assume the position of Vice-Chair for the Management Side.

#### 4. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

Submit, for approval as a correct record, the Minutes of Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on 18 May 2010.

# 5. UPDATE TO THE PROCEDURES FOR ACCELERATED INCREMENTAL PROGRESSION

Submit report by the Joint Secretaries to the LNCT seeking agreement to amend the Accelerated Incremental Progression paper to include a reference to backdating.

#### 6. TEACHER WORKLOAD

Submit report by the Joint Secretaries to the LNCT informing of the progress made in developing a workload action plan as shown in Appendix 1 to the report.

#### 7. PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS

With reference to the Minutes of Meeting of the Local Negotiating Committee for Teachers held on 18 May 2010, the LNCT is requested to consider setting dates for future meetings. Members are asked to note that the LNCT normally meets during the following months: December, March and May/June and September (AGM).

For information on the above agenda please contact Scott Kelly, Committee Officer, Legal, Administrative and Regulatory Services, Council Offices, Garshake Road, Dumbarton G82 3PU. Tel: (01389) 737220.

Email: scott.kelly@west-dunbarton.gov.uk